Double U

Photo a day in april for autism acceptance

Early on I was warned by the physio that i needed to discourage any W sitting. Huh? This is what they meant.

It’s been one of those things I just haven’t been able to do. The kid is a force to be reckoned with when it comes to how he sits. I know that sitting this way gives him a broader base and therefore greater stability, which is helpful when you don’t have much in the way of core strength.

The problem is that it puts enormous pressure on the knees and can cause arthritis later in life. I feel bad that he won out on this one, that I gave up, that it was just one of the things where it was easier to just let him get on with it. But parenting is all about choosing your battles.

20130425-220859.jpg

5 thoughts on “Double U

    • Yes! Yoga afficionados seem to think it’s cool, but everyone else says ouch! By the way…I just saw the babble top 30 autism blogs and saw that you were like, right UP there! officially famous and recognised! woo hoo! congratulations – well deserved, you are a wonderful blogger!

  1. This made me smile because my daughter naturally slid into doing this when she was very young and I had OT’s chiding me on this and trying to show me how to teach her the correct way to sit. she is not ASD but was born with loose hips as a baby but everything seems fine today except she can easily twist and put her body into ballet poses….*shrugs*.

Your thoughts?

