Under Siege

I know! I’ve been a bit slack. But I’ve been under siege. Since coming back from my weekend away in Darwin it’s been payback time for mumma! Things are just starting to settle down a bit now – two weeks later.

My 5yo L has been screaming. SCREAMING!!! Screaming in the morning, when he wakes everyone up in the pre-dawn dark of early winter. Screaming relentlessly throughout the morning routine of getting ready for school. The other day I had to carry him kicking and screaming to the bus. When he gets home from school? Let the screaming begin! (again). It is a form of torture. The weekends are worse.

I’m trying everything. All my tricks. He’s getting lots of attention, lots of positive praise when he is not screaming. Lots of outdoor fun. Plenty of food and water. I draw the line, I warn, I time out, I time myself out. I document to see what I am not seeing. But the screaming combined with the opening/closing door compulsion, the light switch compulsion, the need to find every dangerous or hot thing to touch, the climbing, the stripping, the scratching, pushing and of course, the pooping well, I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t bringing me down.

On the upside, I’ve been inspired by Lauren over at Hike Blog Love. She’s always getting her kids out into the great outdoors. So, I’m going to be following her lead and I’m planning on setting up a special needs & friends bushwalking group. We will get together once a month on a Sunday to go for a walk and commune with nature.

I’m in the process of testing out our first couple of walks – which will be pram & wheelchair accessible. Anyone can come along and join us. I think it will be lots of fun and at the very least, it will give me a break from the screaming. If you are interested, let me know.

Here’s some photos from last weekend’s efforts. It was our first taste of the cold!

15 thoughts on “Under Siege

  1. I don’t “like” what you’re going through, Rose. Right now, “like” means “I relate.” We went through an eerily similar problem after Helene’s teacher was in a car accident and unexpectedly absent from school. It triggered anxiety in Helene that still hasn’t fully abated (and it’s been several months).

    When Helene gets like this, I take her to a park near our house. It has a stream, and she loves to throw pebbles into it. She can do this for a VERY LONG time, and – afterward – she is generally calmer. I don’t know if it’s the fresh air, the physical activity, the catharsis of throwing things without negative repercussion. Whatever it is, it works. So, I hope the bushwalks so L some good, too.

    Hang in there.

    • Thank you. I do think that there’s a lot to be said for getting outside and dissipating all that pent up energy. The combo of sensory stimulation, attention and fun is just too hard for L to resist right now but it can’t be fun to feel so wound up all the time.

      • No, not at all. I’m sure it’s frustrating. Sometimes, when Helene gets way too wound up, she likes to be “covered,” which means under lots of blankets, with her special blanket sort of wrapped around her head. It’s like a giant, full body hug for her. Would L respond well to something like that?

        • I do give him lots of deep pressure hugs and a bit of massage when he can take it. I’ve also got a friend who is lending me her weighted blanket to give that a go and see if he likes that. He’d never like the lycra body socks or anything too tight – he’s always been a hands off boy. Thanks for the suggestions.

  2. Hang in there kid! I think getting outside is a great idea! Getting out and working off spare energy often helps. I loved the photos—you always have great photos! Keep your chin up!!!

  3. Oh yes, I forgot to tell you I nominated you for an award! If you “do” awards, then great! If you “don’t” do awards, then great! Either way you’re tops in my book!

    • Thanks George, your nomination is very kind. I’ve never been much of an awards person (I didn’t even attend any of my graduations – I’m sure there’s some deep phycological flaw in my personality around all this!) so I’m very ambivalent about these blogging awards. I’m just glad these’s some people out there who read and enjoy/relate to what I write – and I know you are one of those wonderful people!

  4. Not sure how I missed this before!
    I don’t know how you do it. A couple of times (when we were researching ABA therapy) we encountered some spectrum kiddos that screamed a lot and I just feel like that would be my breaking point! I know we never know what we’re capable of until we’re in the thick of it, but still! My heart goes out to you!

Your thoughts?

