Mothers Supper Club

Day 26: Autism Awareness Blogathon

Last week I got to meet up with a new bunch of mums. The connection had been made through the parenting course that I finished a few weeks ago. A couple of the other mothers who attended were a part of this group and they had been getting together for some time, but lucky for me they were open to some new blood.

I was sent the address of the mum who was hosting this month. It was in a suburb I had never ventured into, so I had no idea of where I was going or what it would be like when I got there. Luckily I had arranged with Louise for us to travel together – that made it a bit easier.

It was a beautiful autumn evening – not too cool yet but a little nip in the air. How lovely to find that we would be sitting outside around a fire. We were surrounded by enormous trees, rocky outcrops, a dry creek bed, nocturnal marsupials and lush vegetation. You’ve got to love Brisbane surburbia when it can be like this – what a treat!

We chatted and drank and ate and when I checked it was already past the time I’d told the babysitter I be back by. Too quick!

It’s such a gift to have times like these. Good people, all from very diverse backgrounds and experiences brought together by circumstance and our beautiful children.

One thought on “Mothers Supper Club

Your thoughts?

