School Daze

Day 16: Autism Awareness Blogathon

It was the first day of Term 2 today, so we are back into the school routine. I was pretty happy with L’s transition and I think he was too. Yesterday I started to remind him that the bus would be coming in the morning. That he would be seeing his teacher Lisa and aide Sally again and that he would see his 5 classmates again too.

Today when I got his uniform out and showed him what he would be wearing, he seemed to be fairly happy about the idea of going back to school. He quite enjoys the bus and has never had a problem with getting on or off it thank goodness. The bus comes right to our door and the only time he gets anxious is when the bus has arrived and we are all trying to get down the stairs. I’m usually holding the baby (who weighs a TON) and L’s school bag and L wants me to hold his hand as well. In the mix is N (2yo) who would not miss out on some bus action for anything, so he’s trying to get down the stairs as well. Luckily there’s only 8 steps!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So off he went happy as a lark and he had a great day (or so it says in his communication book).

L attends our local special school. This time last year I was trying to work out what on earth I should be doing about finding a school for him. Our system is based on catchment areas. So if you live within the boundaries you are entitled to go to your local state school. Autism in itself is not classified as an intellectual impairment, so the state school is usually your first port of call.

So off I went to our local school to see what they could offer my boy. They were quite wonderful, very accepting and willing to do whatever might be required to support him BUT he would still be in a group of about 25 kids, one teacher and a part time teacher’s aide. That’s it.

So after getting some more advice, I made an appointment to go to a state school that is still within our boundaries but a bit further away and one which has a special education unit attached to it. This sounded like a pretty good option. It was a small school. I have friends whose children attend there and they’ve been more than happy with the school. There were definitely a couple of kids on the spectrum enrolled there. Maybe this would work out?

I was asked to bring my boy along to the interview. So we turned up en masse – I had all three kids with me. That’s just the way it is sometimes as a single parent. We all went into the Principals office and she was also very welcoming along with the Head of the Special Ed Unit. It didn’t take too long being in a small office for L to start carrying on. That set the other kids off and before long it was all going pear shaped.  I was trying to comfort the baby, settle the toddler and keep L from going completely OFF and I was failing on all three accounts. At one point L ran around behind the Principal’s desk and started to climb up on it. He was telling me loud and clear…get us out of here NOW!

Through all this, I could see the Principal’s eyes taking it all in and the inner dialogue was loud and clear from her too. Please don’t send him here! They made it very clear that he would need to be completely toilet trained and must be able to manage getting and eating his lunch and snacks without any assistance.

We did get out of the office and at that point feeling completely overwhelmed, the tears started forming in the corners of my eyes. ‘Keep it together…KEEP IT TOGETHER!!!’ They could see that I was upset and the tone became a little softer. ‘We just want to make sure that this is the right environment for him’.

We had a look at the classrooms where 25 kids were crammed into a visually overwhelming space. They were all busy doing different activities in small noisy groups around the room. L went straight for the Dora box of tissues. There was nothing else of interest in this room for him.

I had gathered myself by this point, thanked them for their time, packed up my three marauders and got the hell out of Dodge. I realised that I had invested a lot of hope in this school being a good solution for my little guy. I was disappointed to say the least. The next day when I dropped L at his early intervention centre, his teacher asked me how the interview had gone and I just fell apart at that point.

A couple of the other parents who were there at that moment came to my rescue, hustled me off to the Parent’s Room (yes…there is a Parent’s Room), made me cups of tea and gave me tissues while I told them of my horror story. Candice & Stuart – thank you, for being so lovely, kind and understanding that day.

OK…regroup, next option?? The phone rang. It was Kerry from Narbethong (her back story is here).  She had known L almost as long as I had and had heard that I was having trouble trying to find the right school for him. She offered her help and the help of the Narby Guidance Officer. They would run interference for me and set up an interview at Nursery Road – our local special school.

Kerry came with me to that interview. I had my dear old mother watch the babies (wasn’t going to make that mistake again!). A very warm welcome, a chat, some games with L and a tour of the school. It’s not the most modern nor does it have the latest educational mod cons, but every child was being catered to according to their needs. They had a heated pool, their curriculum is ‘arts infused’, they have the wonderful bike program and I could see my child being happy here. I could see him learning here.

I don’t know why I left this option to the very last, but I guess you’ve got to work though every options to know which is the right one. I’ve been more than happy with the school so far. Bring on Term 2 and the winter horse riding program.

Tomorrow I have L’s IEP meeting. From all accounts it’s not as difficult and challenging as those I’ve read about from my friends in the US & Canada. I’ve been through quite a few of these already, so feel up to the challenge. I’m taking the advice of one of my bloggy friends though and taking along a photo of my boy, to remind everyone in the room, just who we are talking about.

7 thoughts on “School Daze

  1. I went to my first IEP/ARD meeting (as we call them here) last year. It was so overwhelming! Everyone throwing all these acronyms around. About five minutes in, I spoke up. What do all these letters mean???
    I think my speaking out – much like what you said about bringing a picture (an idea I love!) – made them stop and realize that we were real people with real children who needed real answers!! After my pseudo-outburst, the meeting went so much better. We’re lucky to be at a school where the teachers really do care about our kiddos (both of our 1st graders have IEPs at least once/year).

    Hooray for finding good schools. 🙂

    • I tend to express my opinion more than they would probably appreciate in IEP meetings… But we do have the right to be there and to advocate for our kids, and I just refuse to let someone bowl me over because they spend an hour per week with my child. On the other hand, I do value the perspective that teachers and service providers can share with me, since I do not work with my son in a particularly structured or “educational” environment. So it’s a give and take, which I like a lot more than a disconnected philosophical conversation.

      I, too, really like the photo idea. I have not done that with an IEP meeting, but perhaps I will do that if we continue to need IEPs into elementary school. We did try to do that with all the team meetings, etc, during the foster care process.

      Also, it’s interesting to me that IEP meetings are much more laid-back for you guys in Australia. I’m glad you’re feeling up to the challenge, hope it goes well!

      • Our IEP’s are done every 6 months and do not determine what supports will be made available to the child. So there’s no heavy burden on getting each goal absolutely spot on. That seems to be the main difference. Of course we want the goals to be totally appropriate, tangible and measurable and we can also work some good strategies into each goal as well.

  2. WHEW, I was getting real worried for a bit! I’m glad it worked out! Just the investigative leg-work trying to figure what’s best is enough to wear any person out, isn’t it? We’ve been through about a million IEPs, some good, some dreadful, so I know where you’re coming from. Good luck!

  3. I hope today went well, and the room looked at L beautiful face and kept it all human. I had tears and laughter reading this post. the tears about your interview, the scene with the three children, trying to keep it together, and then the wonderful support from the parents the next day. I laughed myself silly imagining the scene getting down the stairs with your three little darlings, to catch the bus. I am so happy L is in a place where love, acceptance, care, kindness, and learning occurs. how wonderful it also involves horses, swimming and bikes.

    i imagine today you took their breath away at the meeting. You come with a compassionate heart, a creative mind, and educative stance. I could think of no better person to be advocating for the needs of L.

    I am digusted in the educational system, and how they lack resources to accomodate these children. I guess in time you will conqueror this one and be on many advisory panels, bringing change to these systems.

    Thinking of you today and hope it all went well x

Your thoughts?

